2/18/14

February 18, 2014

Hey mom and dad, it’s Elder Sanders!

I know without a doubt that the MTC is where I should be right now in my life. I don’t know if I can relate to you guys just how important missionary work is. This week here at the MTC has been the longest and most spiritually exhausting of my life.

I love being here so much even though it is hard. The spirit of God, like a fire is burning is the only way I can describe it. I watched a talk only for missionaries called the character of Christ by David Bednar. You won’t be able to find it online, but that talk changed my life. I want to be a disciple of Christ so bad, because now I recognize I am not alone. I know that wherever I go, I am not alone. I pray soooo much here, trying to constantly have the spriit. I am scared when I do not have the spirit with me, because I am learning that we can teach by no way except it be of the spirit, and I can testify of the truth of that statement. We are teaching a ‘roleplay’ investigator, but it is absolutely real. If me and elder Jones, my companion, cannot bring the spirit into our lesson, we cannot teach.

I pray a lot to have patience with my companion, but I also pray and give thanks that God put me with a companion who I can learn from and one that teaches me to be more teachable and humble. The MTC is the best place I have ever been to, and this is where God needs me right now. I am beginning to stop trying to trust myself, because the first few days I didn’t think I could do it and wanted to come home. Now, I know that I can trust in the Lord and I will be able to have strength, I absolutely testify of that.

I can feel the spirit now and constantly have it, and that is the greatest gift to me, and I am constantly trying to pray for thanks that God is allowing me to have the spirit in my life. This mission is not about me, which is the best part. I am so glad to finally lose myself and join the good work šŸ™‚

I love being a missionary so much! I wish I could talk face to face with you guys, and Dad I know why you loved your mission so much. The Gospel of Jesus Christ has been restored in these days, and I’m really humbled that God wants me to help share it. Compared to any other time in my life I have never felt so humbled and also excited to be a missionary! I know that it is NOT my own strength that I can do this, because I cannot haha. It is too hard to do by myself. I know that if I rely on the strength of the Lord that all things really are possible, and argh haha I have no words for how at peace and happy I feel right now.

Love, Elder Sanders

Leave a Reply

