2/25/14

Hey Mom and Dad,

I am doing so good! It feels great to know that I am doing the things that God and Jesus Christ want me to do. I’m loving it here at the MTC even though it’s tough! The language is coming great, and yes the gift of tongues is so real. I have learned more here in two weeks than my three years of Spanish. Me and the other elders in my district talk in Portuguese only all the time πŸ˜€ And all of our 10 plus hours a day in the class, a lot of it is in Portuguese and I can understand. My companion is so awesome. I’m really learning what it means that when you love your companion that Spirit can be there that much more powerfully πŸ™‚ And yes, I got your package form Kohls/Valentines thank you so much! It was awesome! Also the dear elder emails have been a huge uplifting part of my day. Thanks mom and dad for being such a huge support, it’s been great!

Me and Elder Jones are teaching two investigators right now. Our teachers, Sister Dangerfield and Brother Belchoir role-play them, but it is so real. Every night I pray to know how I can help them. Scripture study is split up into time for things they could benefit from hearing, and companionship study is focused on them. I am understanding how much this mission is for others more than me. Even watching the District or having a really good discussion with our investigators I am beginning to find it brings me so much happiness when somebody comes unto Christ! πŸ™‚ P-Day is a good break for a few hours from class and studying, we just do laundry and go to the store and what not. No new news on my Visa yet, but I am the furthest along out of the other three elders in my district, so we’ll see soon I hope! One of the elders in our district had to go home last week, so we’re getting a new Elder in our district tomorrow, it’ll be crazy! I always thought that teaching with the spirit was a figure of speech, but it is so true that the language we talk to investigators with is the spirit, not so much Portuguese.

We watched the Joseph Smith restoration video this last Sunday after Devotional. Oh by the way me and the elders joined the choir and we got to sing Praise to the Man for THE Elder Holland πŸ˜€ It was crazy seeing a general authority in person! His son gave a really good talk two Sundays ago! Anyway, I have really strengthened my testimony of Joesph Smith. All of the logistical reasons he could not have invented the Book of Mormon aside, I know that he was called as a Prophet of God to restore the gospel in these latter days. He and the others did not sacrifice even unto their lives to defend something that was not true.

I’ve been reading Alma a lot for my personal scripture study. Alma is probably my missionary example right now πŸ™‚ Alma 14 in particular I really like πŸ™‚ He and Amulek were such consecrated missionaries and even they had to be long suffering in difficulties of ALL kinds on their mission especially unto the people of Amonihah. It’s crazy how they were so meek and humble, and at the same time the Scriptures says to the wicked they were Lions, and when the people could no longer deny they were sent of God the wicked fled from them as a goat and her young fleeth from two lions. I am beginning to see true strength comes from meekness and humility, something I am trying to work on really hard!

I can’t wait to get out into the field! The MTC is great but I am eager to begin, not sit in a classroom for ten hours a day πŸ˜€

Anyway, got to go but love you guys, Elder Sanders

Leave a Reply

